Colossus of Rhode Island

Dan’s Film Blog | May 18, 2010

My name is Dan.  I’m from Rhode Island but I don’t live there anymore.  I like lots of things, including comic books, history, Rhode Island, and movies.  I thought that the name of my blog, Colossus of Rhode Island, was a dreadfully clever way to indicate that I love the first three things.  Colossus is my favorite X-Man, the Colossus of Rhodes was one of the Seven Wonders of the Ancient World (although my historical background is more Cold War-era) and I love Rhode Island.  This is a movie blog, but a movie blog with a very particular focus.  Beginning with 1920 and working my way to the present, each post is going to be about a movie from that year that I think you should see.  I’ll also write about other movies from that year that I liked, put in trivial facts from that year, and a favorite quote (I’ll probably wait until I’m out of the Silent Era to do that though).  Here are the rules (always subject to change):

1.  I am not necessarily going to point out what I believe to be the best movie from that year, just one that I think people should see.

2.  I will try to highlight movies that are relatively easy to download (only legally of course), rent from your local library, or buy online.

3.  I am going to try and not be too esoteric with my choices (of course, when you start in 1920, most people will think the choices are esoteric no matter what).

4.  I am doing ZERO research aside from watching the movies.  Obviously I learned the things that I’m going to say somewhere, but everything that I say will come directly from my brain and I may be wrong sometimes.  I will doublecheck the spelling of names, etc. but other than that, I am going to completely embrace the ability to write about something that I have no credentials to write about and not back anything up with citations (which, along with the ability to act like a jerk anonymously, seems to be the great draw of the internet).  If you don’t like what you read or disagree with my, that’s fine, but I really don’t care.

5.  I don’t know when I’ll get around to the first post, but once I do I’m going to really try to post every week or two.  That’s not so much a rule as a general idea of timelines.

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Comment »

Leave a Reply

About author

I write things...this thing that I'm writing and you're reading is a series of posts, starting with 1920 and focusing on a movie from each year that I think you should see.

Search

Navigation

Categories:

Links:

Archives:

Feeds

